Friday Night Nachos

Its Friday night and we are ready to party! If by party you mean stuff ourselves with nachos and pass out watching Doctor Who at 9:30pm, then yeah! Let’s party! If I’m being honest, nearly every time we do go out to party, at some point you can usually find me asking myself “Why am I not home eating nachos?”
Nachos aren’t exactly a “health food” but I’ve found some ways to clean up this staple comfort food. My version is vegan, gluten free, soy free, corn free, processed sugar free, and made mostly from scratch.
For this recipe I’m being lazy and using store bought chips. I usually make baked sweet potato rounds in place of chips. Sometimes I use regular potatoes instead. Since I generally avoid corn (more on that another time) finding a tortilla like chip that doesn’t include any other undesirable ingredients has proven to be difficult. I’ve finally found some made from white beans, with no additives or unsafe oils. I’ve only been able to find this particular type at my local health food store, although I’ve seen others similar at the grocery store with additional ingredients that I don’t eat.

For the beans I’m also pretty lazy. I’m using canned organic black beans today. Sometimes I use pinto beans, or some combination of the two. I simply toss the beans in a pot with sautéed onion and a little extra virgin olive oil, then add the seasoning, heat, mash, done.

The nacho “cheese” sauce has been more of a challenge. Many store bought types contain soy or other undesirables. Almost all vegan cheese recipes use nutritional yeast, which I do not eat. I’ve been working on my cheese recipe since I began this dietary adventure and I feel it’s really come a long way. It’s base is yellow potato, carrot, onion, and cashews. Also included is garlic, jalapeño, lemon juice, almond milk, and a combination of spices.

Cashew sour cream is one of my favorite things. Be sure to use raw unsalted cashews if you want the best results. I’ve used roasted cashews and found the raw to be far superior for this purpose. Four simple ingredients; cashews, water, sea salt, and lemon juice make up this amazing vegan sour cream replacement.

I’ll also be topping this with guacamole, tomato, olives, and cilantro. I won’t bore you with my lazy guacamole recipe as there are a million easily available online.
Below you’ll find the ingredients list arranged by individual components of the meal, followed by step by step instructions. Please feel free to comment on how you liked it or how it could be improved! Your input is always welcomed. Enjoy!
Ingredients:
Cashew Sour Cream
2/3 cup Raw Unsalted Cashews (presoaked for at least 2 hours)
1 TBLS Lemon Juice
1/4 tsp Sea Salt
1/4 cup water

Nacho “Cheese” Sauce
1 Small-Medium Yellow Potato

1/8 cup raw unsalted cashews

1/3 cup Onion
1 Medium Carrot
1 Garlic Clove
1.5 TBLS Sliced Jalapeño (I used jarred but fresh is preferred)
1/2 tsp Sea Salt
1/4 tsp Cumin
1/4 tsp Onion Powder
1 TBLS Lemon Juice
Pinch of Curry Powder
Pinch of Turmeric
1/4 cup Almond Milk
1 TBLS Tapioca Starch (mix into milk before adding to other ingredients)

Taco Beans
Drizzle of Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1/4 cup Chopped Onion
2 15oz cans of Black Beans
1/4 tsp Sea Salt
1/2 tsp Onion Powder
1/2 tsp Cumin
1/2 tsp Chili Powder
Pepper to taste

Instructrions:

  1. For cashew sour cream, drain presoaked cashews
  2. Add all ingredients to blender
  3. Blend until smooth
  4. Pour into container and refrigerate while you prepare the rest of food, leaving some cashew sour cream left in the blender. This will be added to your cheese sauce so don’t clean the blender!
  5. For the base of the “cheese” add chopped potato, cashews, carrot, onion, along with garlic to boiling water.
  6. Boil until soft, drain, and place in blender with remaining nacho “cheese” sauce ingredients.
  7. Blend until smooth.
  8. For taco beans, drizzle olive oil in pan. Add chopped onion and sautéed a few minutes.
  9. Add drained and rinsed beans to pan along with with remaining ingredients. Cook covered for a few more minutes.
  10. Using a potato masher, mash the beans to the consistency you like. If too thick add a little water
  11. Cover and heat a few minutes more then remove from heat.
  12. Pile beans, “cheese”, sour cream, and anything else you like on top of your favorite chips and enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Friday Night Nachos

Leave a Reply

