The Best Vegan-Gluten Free Mexican Pizza

Like most Americans I could eat “mexican” every day. My husband is the exception and isn’t as into it as I am. Because of this I try to keep my Mexican and Tex-Mex meals to one night a week. When I first became vegan/gluten free I really missed the cheesy, creamy, amazingness of the typical American diet. In order to stay dedicated to my new healthier way of eating, I knew I had to get creative. Below you will find my recipe for Mexican Pizza including the super easy, amazing, pizza crust, the red sauce used, and what else I topped it with. I’ll also include a link to last week’s Nacho post which will include the recipes for the beans, nacho “cheese”, and cashew sour cream used. This recipe is vegan, gluten free, corn free, soy free, processed sugar free, and as always, full of love!! ❤

Vegan Gluten Free Mexican Pizza

Ingredients:

Crust:

2 cups gluten free baking flour (I use Bob’s)

1 cup water

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 TBLS olive oil

1 tsp baking powder (I use aluminum free)

1 TBLS pure maple syrup
Red Sauce:

1 can tomato paste

1 cup water

1.5 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp olive oil

1/8-1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°
  2. Put all crust ingredients in blender and mix well
  3. Pour crust mix into greased baking dish. (I used a glass 11×7 dish that I greased with coconut oil.)
  4. Bake for 15 minutes then remove from oven. 
  5. Once cooled carefully remove crust from dish and place on cookie sheet. (This helped me to crisp it up a bit more.) 
  6. For the red sauce place all ingredients in sauce pan and simmer on low for 15 minutes. (You will have leftovers. I made two pizzas and still had red sauce left.)
  7. Top your crust with the beans (recipes for beans, “cheese”, and cashew sour cream can be found here: https://intentionalexistenceblog.wordpress.com/2016/11/04/friday-night-nachos/
  8. Spoon on as much red sauce as you like, being mindful that the pizza may get floppy if you use too much
  9. Place pizza back in oven for 10+ minutes, depending on how crispy you like your crust.
  10. After you’ve removed it from the oven, top it with the nacho “cheese” and any other toppings you like. I used onions, olives, lettuce, tomatoes, and topped it off with cashew sour cream. 

Enjoy! Please comment and let me know how you liked it! 

2 thoughts on “The Best Vegan-Gluten Free Mexican Pizza

  1. My family LOVES this crust! This time we made too much and I’m wondering how well it freezes. Do you have any experience with that? Would we just follow the same directions for baking the frozen crust later??? I’m NOT a freezer of things. Thanks so much for all of your great recipes!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

