Soy Free Tofu (Chickpea Tofu) 


If you’ve read my “chicken” nuggets recipe then you already know how I came to love chickpea tofu. I use it fairly often (probably too often at times) because of its versatility. I can make it into different shapes, flavor it differently, and cook it differently, which makes it a great meat replacement for many dishes. I even made “pepperoni” with it once, although that recipe still needs much improvement. 
Today I’m making it in it’s most easy, basic form. After I prepare it I’ll put it on top of a nice salad with lots of veggies and some sweet potato fries. It’s very simple to make, but takes a bit of planning ahead.
First I’ll add all of the ingredients to a sauce pan and heat on low. It’ll be chunky so no worries. 


I’ll stir it continuously until it becomes very thick. Don’t walk away because it could burn easily on the bottom of the pan.


Once it’s nice and thick (still lumpy, it’s seriously fine) I’ll dump it onto a large dish or a cookie sheet and spread it out. Then I take a fork and make lines and ridges in it to give it texture. This texture step is optional. I feel it browns better this way but maybe I’m nuts. 


Let cool at room temp 5-10 minutes then flip if you wish to add texture to the bottom side. Again that’s optional. At this point you should put the chickpea tofu in the refrigerator for 2 hours or so. Longer is fine. Shorter will make for a mushier version but hey, if you’re short on time it is what it is. I’ve used it after putting it in the freezer for 20 minutes so I’m in no position to judge! 


After it’s cooled you can cut it into whatever shapes you want. I usually do strips but I do it by cutting really long narrow triangles. Then I’ll cut the triangles into smaller pieces or break them if I want rough edges. 
Season them however you like, but at this point you want it to be dry seasoning so that they crisp up in the oven. I usually use garlic and onion powders, paprika, salt, and pepper. Put a nice layer of oil on a baking sheet then put the pieces in a single layer. Bake, flipping once half way through. If you want to add sauce you may do so once they are crisp then bake another 10 minutes roughly. 

This recipe is vegan, gluten free, soy free, corn free, and processed sugar free. 
Basic Baked Chickpea Tofu

Ingredients:

2 cups chickpea flour (I use Bob’s)

2.5 cups of water

1 tsp sesame oil

1 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/8 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp paprika

1/8 tsp celery seed
Instructions:

  1. Place all ingredients into sauce pan. Mix together and heat on low-medium until very thick, stiring continuously.(Will remain lumpy.)
  2. Remove from heat and spread out onto large dish or baking sheet. Spread so tofu is 1/2″-3/4″ thick. (Optional- make lines in tofu using a fork to add texture.)
  3. Let cool at room temp 5-10 minutes. (Optional- Flip tofu over and use fork to make more lines for texture.)
  4. Refrigerate for 2+ hours.
  5. Preheat oven to 400°. Cut into strips or the shape of your choice.
  6. Put a nice layer of oil in baking sheet, place tofu pieces on, and season as desired. (Dry seasoning only until tofu has crisped.)
  7. Place in oven and bake for 15-20 minutes then carefully flip each piece.
  8. Bake another 15-20 minutes. If you are using a sauce you can apply sauce at this time then bake another approx 5-10 minutes. If not, remove from oven and allow to cool before serving. 

    I hope you guys enjoy this recipe! It’s a favorite in our house, even with my picky kids. Comment with any questions and let me know how you like it if you try it! ❤ 

    One thought on “Soy Free Tofu (Chickpea Tofu) 

    Leave a Reply

    