Slow Cooker Vegan Chili

Not that I really needed another reason to eat chili, but the weather has turned quite cold here, and I can think of no better way to warm my belly than to fill it with one of my favorite meals. When I first made my dietary changes, chili was at the top of my list of meals to convert. Since then I’ve made it many different ways. As with all of my soups and stews, I tend to just toss in whatever calls to me that day. It usually turns out tasting the same anyway. Haha. Today I decided to actually measure and record what I used. I’m likely to make edits to this recipe in the future as I’m always looking for improvements. 
This recipe can be converted easily to be made stove-top. I usually start that way by sauteing the onion in a little oil. I really like the flavor so feel free to saute your onions before adding to the crock pot. I like to serve this with cornless-bread (or cornbread if you eat corn), cashew sourcream, and occasionally a little “cheese” sauce. This recipe is vegan, gluten free, corn free, soy free, and processed sugar free. 

In progress


Slow Cooker Vegan Chili
Ingredients:

2 15oz cans organic black beans

2 6oz cans organic tomato paste 

1 green pepper (chopped)

1 onion (chopped)

1.5 cups baby Bella mushrooms (finely chopped)

2 cups broth

3/4 cup uncooked quinoa (rinsed)

1 TBLS chopped jalapeno (I used jarred because it’s what I had. Fresh is better)

2-3 garlic cloves (minced)

2 TBLS chili powder

1 TBLS cumin

2 tsp paprika 

2 tsp onion powder

1 tsp garlic powder

1 TBLS stone ground mustard

1+ tsp sea salt (add more to taste)

1/2 tsp black pepper

2 TBLS pure maple syrup

2 TBLS lemon juice

1/2 tsp sage

1 tsp oregano

1/8 tsp tumeric 

1/8 tsp curry powder
Instructions:

  1. Add all ingredients to crock pot. 
  2. Stir well.
  3. Cook on high for 4 hours, stirring occasionally.
  4. Serve hot with your favorite toppings and enjoy!! 
Leave a Reply

