Gluten Free Vegan Meatless-Loaf Balls

I’ve been working on “meatloaf” since I went vegan/gluten free nearly a year ago. My poor family has suffered through some nearly inedible attempts. Some have been better than others, but this has by far been my best! I decided to make it into balls instead of the loaf shape to see if it made any difference. Also, you get more sauce covered surface area this way! I used my chickpea tofu recipe (before baking), and added in quinoa and some veggies. These would be great to make the day before, bake, then heat in the oven with the sauce then next day, as they tend to firm up more after they’ve sat. We loved them and I hope you do too! This recipe is vegan, gluten free, corn free, soy free, and processed sugar free. 

For chickpea tofu:

2 cups chickpea flour (I use Bob’s)

2.5 cups of water

1 tsp sesame oil

1 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/8 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp paprika

1/8 tsp celery seed

Instructions:

  1. Place all ingredients into sauce pan. Mix together and heat on low-medium until very thick, stiring continuously.(Will remain lumpy.)
  2. Remove from heat and spread out onto large dish or baking sheet. Spread 1/2″ thick or slightly thinner.
  3. Let cool at room temp 5-10 minutes.
  4. Refrigerate for 2+ hours.


For Quinoa:

1 cup uncooked quinoa 

1 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/8-1/4 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp sage

3/4 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp thyme

1/2 tsp oregano 

1/4 tsp parsley

Instructions:

  1. Prepare quinoa by package directions. 
  2. Once done, add all of the remaining ingredients. Set aside to cool.



    For Sauce:

    Ingredients:

    6 oz can tomato paste

    1.5 cups water

    3/4 cup maple syrup or honey (Or both)

    Salt to taste

    1 tsp mustard

    2 dashes of clove

    2 dashes of allspice

    2 tsp coconut aminos

    1. Combine well. 



      Other ingredients:

      3/4 cup chopped baby Bella mushrooms

      3/4 cup onion, diced

      1 green pepper, diced

      2 cloves garlic, minced
      Instructions: 

      1. Put all “other ingredients” in large mixing bowl.
      2. Add quinoa mixture.
      3. Crumble in tofu.
      4. Using your hands, combine well. Take your time so that all the ingredients are mixed together well. 
      5. Shape into balls and place on well oiled baking dish. (I used glass oiled with coconut oil.) 
      6. Place in preheated oven at 425.
      7. Bake for 30 minutes, flip, and add sauce, being sure to save some sauce for later!
      8. Bake another 30 minutes, flip again, add more sauce, and bake another 20 minutes. 
      9. Remove from oven and let cool a bit before serving. 🙂



      Quinoa mixture with crumbled chickpea tofu

      After mixing well, by hand

      Shaped into balls, before baking

      I hope you enjoy these as much as we did!! ❤ 

      4 thoughts on “Gluten Free Vegan Meatless-Loaf Balls

      1. Hi! I’m making this recipe for the first time and I’m wondering if there’s another step to the sauce? I’ve decided to reduce it since I don’t think it will work in its original state.
        Thank you so much for your work!! This is my first try of your work and I can’t wait to try more of your recipes!

        Like

      2. I am so looking forward to trying this recipe. I, too, have been working on creating a meatless meatloaf recipe for a long time, but I’ve been unsuccessful. This looks like a success to me! Thank you for your hard work in creating this and sharing it with me. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      Leave a Reply

      