Peanut Butter Squares!!(Vegan, Gluten Free, Soy Free, No processed sugar)

 


Did your school cafeteria serve these growing up? I practically lived off them during high school. The traditional peanut butter square is full of less than desirable ingredients. I don’t generally consume peanut butter, but pregnancy cravings are tough! So I decided to make a healthed-up version to fit my dietary preferences. I’ve also made these using sunflower seed butter, but that’s expensive and gives me a stomach ache if I over eat it, which I always do. Haha. 
This recipe is vegan, gluten free, soy free, and processed sugar free. 
Peanut Butter Squares
Chocolate Layer:

Ingredients: 
1/2 cup organic unrefined coconut oil

1/4 cup cocoa powder 

1/4 cup pure maple syrup

1/4 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp vanilla
Peanut Butter Layer:

Ingredients:

2 cups oat flour

1/4 cup organic unrefined coconut oil

1/3 cup organic peanut butter (Check label for sugar)

1/4 cup pure maple syrup

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup almond milk
Instructions:

  1. Mix together all chocolate layer  ingredients. Mix until well combined.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine all peanut butter layer ingredients. 
  3. Mix until well combined.
  4. Press peanut butter mixture into a dish. Size depends on how thick you like them. I used a 6×8 dish.
  5. Spread chocolate layer evenly over the peanut butter layer.
  6. Chill for at least one hour.
  7. Keep refrigerated as chocolate will melt at room temperature.

Hope you enjoy these as much as my family does!!! 

Leave a Reply

